Multiple Jackrabbits given recognition for their merit

Ariy-El Boynton

Ariy-El Boynton

With the win over the 19th ranked Cal Poly Mustangs, three players were rewarded for their efforts by earning Great West Football Conference Player of the Week honors. The Jacks swept the awards despite North Dakota’s victory over Division 1 Big Ten opponent University of Minnesota.

SDSU senior defensive lineman Mitch Pontrelli was named a defensive player of the week in the GWFC with his two sacks, one blocked field goal and six tackles in the game. It was the first time that an SDSU defensive player was recognized as the player of the week by the conference.

Senior running back Cory Koenig gained 259 yards and four touchdowns-both career highs- and was also recognized by the Great West. Koenig was named the co-offensive player of the week, along with North Dakota State running back Tyler Roehl, who gained 263 yards in his performance. Rohel and Koenig both set the Great West Football Conference rushing record, but Koenig had four yards less and would have to settle for second place in Great West football history.

Sophomore Jackrabbit Adam Monke was recognized as the special teams player of the week. Monke amassed 150 yards, including his kick return to give the Jacks the early lead on Oct. 20. Monke is not the only SDSU player who has been given the honor of being the special teams player of the week. SDSU record-setting kicker Parker Douglass was named the special teams player of the week on two occasions. The latest was on Sept. 30 after his 57-yard field goal, which gave Douglass two school records-longest kick and consecutive field goals.

Douglass is also being considered for the Draddy Trophy. On Oct. 11, HealthSouth, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced that Douglass was a semifinalist along with 38 others.

The Draddy trophy is given to the player who has achieved success on and off the field. Past winners include: Peyton Manning (1997), Chad Pennington (1999) and Kyle Vanden Bosch (2000).