Jacks pick up extra game in ESPN primetime

Ariy-El Boynton

Ariy-El Boynton

The SDSU men’s basketball team caught a scheduling break and was selected as a Summit League representative in the seventh annual ESPNU BracketBusters series, which will be televised by ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN360 on Feb. 20 and Feb. 21. The Jackrabbits will have a road game against a non-league team. North Dakota State University men’s basketball program was also selected as a squad to play in the BracketBusters.

“This is an excellent opportunity not only for the league but for North Dakota State and South Dakota State to receive national exposure for the men’s basketball programs,” the Summit League Commissioner Tom Duple said.

The SDSU coaching staff and players are pleased with the opportunity to take part in the national series.

“It’s good exposure, it worked well that North Dakota State and us had a single game that week so that we could move that game and we’re playing the BracketBuster game on the weekend,” said head coach Scott Nagy. ” I know the players are excited about it and the nice thing about it, we’ll get another home game next season.”

SDSU will host whatever team the Jacks play on the road this year in the 2009-10 season.

SDSU’s goals include being part of the top-eight in the Summit League and making the Summit League Tournament in Sioux Falls.

“It’s important that we make it, I don’t think our team feels a ton of pressure and I think they are confident that it will happen,” said Nagy.

“We fully expect it to be home games for us and we’re excited about that,” he said.

SDSU will only graduate three seniors and will welcome redshirt senior Mackenzie Casey back to the court.

The teams which SDSU may face include: Ball State, Boston, Bowling Green, Bucknell, Cal Poly, UC Davis, UC Santa Barbara, Central Michigan, Creighton, Davidson, Drake, Drexel, Eastern Kentucky, Eastern Michigan, Evansville, Fairfield, Georgia Southern, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois-Chicago, Indiana State, James Madison, Kent State, Long Beach State, Loyola Chicago, Marist, Milwaukee, Murray State, Nevada, New Mexico State, Niagara, UNC Wilmington, Old Dominion, Portland State, Rider, San Diego, San Jose State, Siena, Southeast Missouri State, St. Mary’s, Tennessee-Martin, Tennessee State, Towson, Valparaiso, Vermont, Western Michigan, Wichita State, William & Mary, Winthrop, Wright State and Youngstown State.