More than 1,400 graduate this spring

Vanessa Marcano

Vanessa Marcano

For some, the Saturday after finals will signify the end of another hectic spring semester at SDSU. and their days will be filled with cleaning out dorm rooms or catching up on sleep. For others, it will mark the beginning of an entirely new chapter in their lives, where they will be leaving papers, homework, all-nighters and other assorted college antics behind forever and embarking upon a promising ride in “the real world.”

On May 8, a total of 1,406 Jackrabbits will be celebrating the completion of their undergraduate or graduate career at SDSU in two separate ceremonies in Frost Arena. The commencement ceremony for undergraduates will begin at 10 a.m., while graduates will have their event at 2:30 p.m.

Mediacom’s Channel 2 will also be broadcasting this solemn celebration of academic achievement.

The keynote speaker for the undergraduate ceremony is 2009 Distinguished Alumni Brigadier General Mark A. Clark, featuring an address titled “Life’s Compass.” Clark is director of operations for the U.S. Special Operations Command. In the graduate ceremony, Carol J. Peterson, provost and vice president emeritus for Academic Affairs will be delivering the keynote address.

According to a press release, the SDSU Symphonic Band will hold a pre-commencement concert under the direction of Eric Peterson at 9:20 a.m., just prior to the undergraduate ceremony.

Meanwhile, the graduate students will be honored with the music performed by Professor Emeritus of Music Charles Canaan on the organ, as well as Music Department Head David Reynolds on the trumpet. Steven Grives will be leading the SDSU Chamber Singers’ performance as well, the press release stated.

Several distinguished academic authorities are scheduled to participate in the graduation ceremony, including Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Laurie Nichols, Terry Baloun from the South Dakota Board of Regents, Kevin Kephart, vice president for research dean of the Graduate School, Lt. Col. Dana Nielsen from the Air Force ROTC and Maj. Kory Knight from the Army ROTC, among others, including honorary marshals for each ceremony.