SA adjourns term



By EMILY De WAARD News Editor

Students’ Association held its final meeting of the 2016-17 academic year Monday.

With a new Senate body, concluding the year and looking to the next, former finance chair and current at-large Senator Nick Lorang gave a Senate informative session for new senators. Lorang’s presentation gave an overview of budget language and proponents of the General Activity Fee (GAF) budget to help new senators understand the budget they will be responsible for in their term.

Senators unanimously approved Resolution 17-01-R, showing the body’s support for the implementation of a transportation system to and from campus with international students in mind. This resolution did not offer an implementation strategy, but served to show SA’s support for such a program.

Eta Sigma Delta’s constitution to open a chapter at South Dakota State was also unanimously approved by SA. ESD is an honor society for the hospitality management program in the Consumer Sciences Department of the College of Education and Human Sciences at SDSU.

First readings were given of Amendments 17-01-A and 17-02-A. These amendments were postponed for the fall. They respectively seek to “disambiguate Students’ Association senator duties and enhance senator accountability,” and “establish a regular meeting schedule” for the SA board of directors.

Jennifer McLaughlin, campus sustainability specialist, gave the Senate a short survey about recycling on campus, which she continues to work to improve. McLaughlin announced all students may take a full-length, brief survey online, which can be found in this week’s Rabbit Report.

Additionally, two new senators, Katherine Hodge (College of Agriculture & Biological Sciences) and Samantha Heeran (College of Nursing) were sworn in.

SA will resume their usual 7 p.m. Monday meetings in the Lewis and Clark room of The Union next fall.