Helms, Speirs win SA elections by 211 votes

Staff Reports

Ally Helms and Lane Speirs won the Students’ Association election with 1,012 votes, topping Nathaniel Condelli and Robert McLean by 211 votes.

The election concluded on Wednesday at 5 p.m. after two days of voting. Fourteen percent of the student body voted in this year’s election.

“I can’t thank students enough for getting out there and voting,” said Helms, elected SA president.

The next step for Helms and Speirs is to fill the spots on their executive board and the at-large positions on the senate.

Helms said this process helped her to learn more about the students she will represent on campus.

“I’ve learned about who the student body is,” Helms said.

Speirs is glad to be able to have the opportunity to serve the student body as the vice president of SA.

“[It is] an incredible blessing to be able to represent this university,” Speirs said. “I am incredibly humbled to be able to help the university that way.”

McLean plans to apply for an at-large position on the Senate to continue his work to make an impact on campus.

“Good luck to Lane and Ally,” McLean said. “I know they’re going to do a great job—there’s no doubt about that.”

There are 10 at-large positions open on the Senate. Students will be able to take out petitions for a seat.

Here is a complete list of senators that will be representing the Students’ Association in the 2016- 2017 academic year:

Agriculture & Biological Sciences

Cade Opheim

Dalton Kampsen

Dennisen Nelson

Kiera Leddy

Shala Larson

College of Arts & Sciences

AnnaLee Christensen

Scott Simons

Viraj Patel

College of Nursing

Iris Le

Mary Lack

Bevin Clapper

College of Engineering

Benjamin Sesso

Spencer Harwood

Education and Human Sciences

Brianna Doran

Cole Hinz

College of Pharmacy

Amanda Dickinson

Michael Miller

Graduate School

Semehar Ghebrekidan