Strong Jr. tabbed as top freshman, three Jackrabbits named to All-Newcomer Team

Trenton Abrego

For the second time in three years, the South Dakota State Jackrabbits have the Missouri Valley Football Conference Freshman of the Year.

Pierre Strong Jr., led the Jackrabbits with 777 total rushing yards on 67 attempts for an average over 11 yards per game. Strong Jr. also added 8 touchdowns.

Strong Jr. joins Christian Rozeboom (2016), Jake Wieneke (2014) and Austin Sumner (2011) as Jackrabbits who have taken the award back to Brookings.

Three Jackrabbits were also named to the All-Newcomer Team. Pierre Strong Jr., joined the Iowa transfer Brandon Synder and freshman Krockett Krowlikowski to make the list.