Committee names three dean prospects

Rebecca Schultze

Rebecca Schultze

A 13-memeber search committee has selected three candidates for the position of dean of the College of Pharmacy at SDSU.

The committee, headed by Dr. Jerry Jorgensen, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences chose Dr. Elgene Jacobs, Dr. Brian Kaatz and Dr. Philip Medon to visit SDSU for several days at a time to meet and interview with students, faculty, administrators and constituency groups.

Jacobs is the associate dean and vice chair of the Department of Pharmacy: Clinical and Admnistrative Sciences at the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy in Oklahoma City and an associate professor at the University of Oklahoma Health and Sciences Center since 1987. Jacobs earned his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from SDSU in 1973, his master’s degree in pharmaceutical socioeconomics from the University of Iowa in 1977 and his doctorate in pharmacy administration fro Purdue University in 1981.

Kaatz is the professor and head of the Department of Clinical Pharmacy at SDSU and is currently the acting dean of the College of Pharmacy. He graduated from SDSU in 1974 with a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy and earned his doctorate in pharmacy from the University of Minnesota in 1977.

Medon is the associate dean of the College of Pharmacy, Student and Professional Affairs for the University of Louisiana at Monroe. Medon earned his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science in 1968, his master’s degree in pharmacology from Purdue University in 1971 and his doctorate in pharmacology from Purdue university in 1972.