And the winner is . . .

Crystal Mohrhauser

Crystal Mohrhauser

Eleven men adorned with high heels and make-up strutted their stuff as they competed in drag for the Miss Homelycoming crown on Oct. 19.

In front of an audience in the Performing Arts Center, three judges awarded Gavin Nachtigall (Gloria Not A Guy) with this year’s Miss Homelycoming title.

Upon applying for the pageant, contestants filled out an informational sheet that allowed to audience to connect with them as they vied for the title. The festivities opened with a lively dance number. After a quick wardrobe change, the contestants displayed their homecoming spirit by dressing up in hobo attire. During the talent portion, the contestants showcased their abilities through music, dance and reading.

As the contest switched to a more formal event, the men were each asked a question by the masters of ceremonies. These questions provided the audience more insight into each contestant as the contestants described details such as their favorite lipstick colors, perfect dates and morning preparations.

In case Nachtigall cannot fulfill his duties as Miss Homelycoming, Brady Mallory will step in as he was awarded first runner-up. Recognition was also given to William Reed as second runner up and Miss Congeniality.

The University Program Council sponsored the event. Several area businesses supplied prize packages that were awarded to each of the contestants. Miss Homelycoming 2004, Charles Woodward, was also in attendance and presented Nachtigall with a tiara.

#1.884925:2892160193.jpg:homelycoming02_asha.jpg:The “lady” holding the microphone is the winner of Miss Homelycoming, Gavin Nachtigall. Also pictured are the rest of the pageant contestants.:Ashley Ahlbrecht